A letter from Generation X to its Parents

This letter was inspired by an email I received titled “A letter from a Mother to a Daughter” and Jasryn’s blogpost (here) on parenting.

Dear parents,

I want you to know that I love you. Even if I don’t say it enough.

 

When I don’t listen to you, it’s not because I’m being obstinate. Sometimes I just have to make my own mistakes.

 

One day, I hope you will be able to accept that we’ve elected Barack Obama as our President. He may be Black, he may be a liberal, but I think he will lead the nation right.

 

When I have my own opinions, sometimes I’m wrong, but most times I remember that it was you who told me, “be yourself”.

 

One day, I hope you will be able to accept that women are equal to men in all aspects of life.

 

One day, I hope you will be able to accept that women should receive equal pay to men.

 

One day, I hope you will be able to accept marriage equality. Because my best friends are gay and I really want them to be happy.

 

If I sometimes seem ungrateful, I apologise. Sometimes I want too many things that I forget what really matters.

 

 When we disagree on fundamental issues, please remember that you sent me to receive an education for a reason: Human progress.

 

If I seem uncaring, please give me time. I promise you that I’ll find my way back.

 

If I seem distant, remember those times when I was a child where you hid painful information from me. I’m doing the same because I don’t want you to be disappointed or worry.

 

Sometimes you wonder why I think I’m perfect. But please know that I am my harshest critic.

 

When you think how my generation can be so lost, so consumed by distraction, please know that you were young once too. Even if you don’t remember it. We all make our own mistakes. Because that’s how we learn.

 

Eventually I will find my way home. And that’s when the cycle of life is complete.

 

You did the best job you knew how to do. And I am forever grateful for that.

Leave a comment

Filed under Musings

Leave a Reply

